Who Qualifies for NDIS Support? - NDIS Eligibility Explained

More than 610,000 Australians are receiving support from the NDIS, and you could be one of them. But who qualifies for NDIS support? Read this article to find out.

Updated on Mar 25, 2024
5 min read

The National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) is a government-funded program that provides support to Australians with disabilities. 

The NDIS can provide a range of supports, including funding for therapy, equipment, and home modifications. 

But who qualifies for NDIS support?

There are certain eligibility criteria you must meet to qualify for the NDIS. These include age, residency, and disability requirements.

In this article, we will explain who qualifies for NDIS assistance and provide information on how to apply for NDIS support.

What Are the NDIS Qualification Requirements?

Many Australians with disabilities receive support through the NDIS

The National Disability Insurance Scheme is a government initiative that offers various types of support. This support is tailored for individuals with disabilities. 

Some of the services funded by the NDIS include:

  • Help with daily living activities
  • Support for community participation
  • Therapeutic supports
  • Assistive technology
  • Home modifications
  • Support for educational activities and skill development
  • Transportation

To receive these support services, you must be eligible

NDIS eligibility rests on three types of criteria: age, residency, and disability. 

Age Requirements

To start off, you need to be of a certain age to apply for NDIS funding. To be more specific, you need to be between the ages of 9 and 65. 

That being said, children under the age of 9 may be eligible for the early childhood approach. 

This approach helps children younger than 9 with disability and their family members. Children under the age of 6 with developmental delays also have access to those support services. 

Australians older than 65 may not apply for the NDIS. Those not eligible for the NDIS can turn to My Aged Care.

My Aged Care includes different support services for the elderly, including:

  1. Continuity of Support Programme
  2. Commonwealth Home Support Programme
  3. Home Care Packages

Home Care Packages is a government-funded program for the elderly. It's ideal for those who want to remain living at home and receive the help they need there. 

Residency Requirements

There are certain residency requirements you have to meet to qualify for NDIS support.

Namely, to apply for the NDIS, you have to be a/an:

  1. Australian citizen
  2. Permanent Visa holder
  3. Protected Special Category Visa holder

If you live outside of Australia, you won't be able to qualify. 

Disability Requirements

The most important requirements are those pertaining to disability. 

To apply, you must have a significant disability caused by a permanent impairment. This can include:

  • Chronic medical conditions
  • Genetic disorders
  • Physical disabilities
  • Acquired brain injuries
  • Sensory impairments
  • Intellectual disabilities
  • Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD)
  • Speech and language disorders
  • Neurological disabilities
  • Psychosocial conditions

Remember that the type of disability you have is not a direct eligibility factor. The NDIS looks at how your disability affects your ability to perform everyday tasks. If it prevents you or makes it harder for you to perform daily tasks, you may be eligible for the NDIS. 

Disability requirements also include the likelihood that you will need to receive support your whole life. 

How to Access NDIS Support 

Before you can apply for the NDIS, make sure you are eligible. You can do this by going through the NDIS eligibility checklist.

Even if you do check all the necessary boxes, you still have to go through a formal assessment. You will need to contact the NDIA, who will redirect you to a local area coordinator. You can visit their website for more contact information. 

The next step is to complete an access request form. This form gathers information about:

  • Your disability
  • Support needs
  • Any existing supports in place
  • Your medical records and history

The NDIA may arrange for an assessment to better understand your disability, support needs, and goals. This assessment may involve meetings with the person applying, their family, carers, or healthcare professionals.

The NDIA will notify you whether you qualify for NDIS support in due time. 

After that, you will be able to create a personalised NDIS plan. You can do this with your NDIS planner or local area coordinator.

Creating your NDIS plan includes the following steps:

  1. Explaining what types of services you need
  2. Setting goals and objectives
  3. Planning your NDIS budget
  4. Choosing a plan management option
  5. Choosing your NDIS provider

The good news is that you can change your plan along the way. Your NDIS plan is supposed to provide you with support that aligns with your changing needs. 

What Are the Eligibility Criteria for the NDIS?

To be eligible to qualify for the NDIS, you need to be of a certain age, you must meet residency requirements, and you have to have a significant and permanent disability. 

If you are looking for an NDIS provider, Inclusive Home Care can help guide you through the intricacies of this system. 

Our services include help with personal activities, shared living, innovation and community participation, life skill development, help with household tasks, and more.

We are here for any questions you may have about the NDIS. Contact us if you want to know more or if you are interested in our services.

Schedule a free personalised consultation now.

Learn what options suit you with a free, no-obligation consultation.